“Sun Talker” sees rain & snow in our future!

Sun Talker by Lynden Pomeroy 1982

After a windy weekend, but mild enough to be outdoors, another weather system is delivering rain that could change to snow overnight.

The Sun Talker sculpture was erected outside the KRTV studios in the early 1980’s. I was fortunate to meet the artist this past Friday when Lynden came by the television station for a visit to see how things had changed. The sculpture he said was made to commemorate the early methods of communication by Native Americans.  It is a beautiful piece of art and many people stop by the station to take pictures of it!

It was windy yesterday but that was good for me. I managed to mow the dusty front yard yesterday and if you stood in the right area the clippings went right in the big bags. I am afraid no matter how hard I tried I still had large amounts of dust and dirt in my eyes that was still being washed out this morning. Glad it is raining on the freshly mowed lawn though.

Our first of the week moisture should come to an end by Tuesday night and sunshine return on Wednesday. Temperatures hover around 50, some days climbing into the mid 50’s.

I hope you had a pleasant weekend and enjoy the first full week of spring!

Fred

One Response to ““Sun Talker” sees rain & snow in our future!”

  1. carlton a harris jr Says:

    The sun talker statue. in 1982, krtv along with a radio station came up with a contest to name the statue. my father won the contest with the name “The Sun Talker”. My fathers name is carlton harris, aka andy. my father had passed away in 2001. we used to have pictures of the sun talker, but thru time had misplaced them. so i was wondering if there is someone there could possibly take a few pictures along with the plaque which my fathers name is placed.
    my email address is charris85321@yahoo.com
    thank you

Leave a Reply

