Tonight is the last of my trips down memory lane. Retirement 1 week away!

I am so fortunate to be led down the path of broadcasting to include a career that started in radio and branched into television beginning at KTWO in Casper, Wyoming. After 25 years in radio and 23 in television I will be retiring the end of the year, but taking unused vacation until that time beginning a week from today. My last day on air will be Thursday, December 15th.

Tonight is the last trip down memory lane. A very important part of my career. It involved meeting CBS’s Steve Hartman who still appears on the CBS Evening News as a Feature Reporter, most recently doing a story on the passing of Andy Rooney.

He formally did a series called “Everybody Has A Story” which aired on CBS for many years. You may remember him as the person would go to wherever a dart landed on a map of the United States. He has been in Montana more than half a dozen times, including a story on the late Walter Breuning when he was 113 years old that aired on the CBS Evening News.

The reason this story is so important to me is Steve and his LA CBS photographer Les Rose allowed me to follow him them for two days. I have always felt as my strength as a reporter in both radio and television was feature stories. The chance to see one of the best in the business and a top-notch camera operator cover this story allowed me to see the best at work. I came away from that experience with even more knowledge or reporting and editing feature stories and even better I have ended up with two very good friends whom I keep in touch with by phone or e-mail.

Thanks Steve and Les for allowing me to watch and report on the best of the best. The story I did on them ended up as the E.B. Craney Enterprise winner from the Montana Broadcasters Association. Tonight you will see that story again at 10 pm.

Next Thursday I don’t know what will happen, but I do know that there will be weather to talk about.  If you wish to see past stories that have aired as I count down my retirement you can find them at the KRTV website by following this link. http://www.krtv.com/search/?sterm=fred+pfeiffer&s=Search

Thank you again for being such loyal viewers and welcoming me into your homes with KRTV for the past 15 1/2 years. I am retiring happy and healthy and my wife Vi and I plan to stay in Great Falls. I hope to see you on the street, introduce yourself and I always enjoy personal visits (after all “Everybody” has a story!!)

Merry Christmas

Fred

One Response to “Tonight is the last of my trips down memory lane. Retirement 1 week away!”

  1. Sandra Obie Says:

    Fred,
    We looked forward to your weather forecasts for many years and will be sad to see you retire–even though it is well earned. Where we live, weather is always a serious concern, and your forecasts helped us plan our days and prepare for weather problems.
    Will you be back for special programs?
    Good Luck and have a happy, and fulfilling retirement.

    Sandy and Don Obie
    On the ranch, North of Winifred, Montana

Leave a Reply

